The Birth of Omicron Nu Chapter

The Omicron Nu Chapter of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. chapter charter was signed on Friday, January 1st, 1971 at the National Headquarters in Washington DC. On Saturday, January 9th, 1971, Omicron Nu Chapter held its first chapter meeting in the Gallean Room at the Naval Post-graduate School by nine Omega Men living on the Monterey Bay Peninsula. These charter members were:

    Kenneth C. Westerfield · [Nu Sigma Chapter, December, 1967]Marina, CA
    Willie E. Brewer · [Pi Sigma Chapter, November 5th, 1966]Del Ray Oaks, CA
    Benjamin S. Shaw · [Mu Psi Chapter, May 1952]Marina, CA
    James L. Manning · [Chi Epsilon Chapter, April 1951]Seaside, CA
    Thomas C. Groce · [Psi Epsilon Chapter, February 3rd, 1954]Monterey, CA
    Bradley Knight · [Omega Gamma Chapter, April 1970]Monterey, CA
    James F. Poe · [Nu Psi Chapter, December 1956]Fort Ord, CA
    Willie L. Hinton
    Robert L. Smith
    Anthony O. Cone

The first officers of the chapter were:

    Basileus: James L. Manning
    Keeper of Records & Seal: Willie E. Brewer
    Keeper of Finance: Benjamin S. Shaw

Brother Philmore Graham, the 12th District Representative, presented the charter to the Basileus at the first chapter meeting.

On February 24th, 1971, Omicron Nu Chapter organized its first pledge club. and the individuals to be initiated were:

    Willie Johnson
    Willie Mitchell
    James Taylor

Immediately following the chartering and initiation of the first Pledge Club, the Chapter began to direct its energy towards programs and activities which were mandated by the International Headquarters. In 1974, Omicron Nu hosted its first District Meeting and organized its first Mardi Gras. This was one of the Chapter's premier fund-raising events.

Annually, the Chapter has sponsored Thanksgiving programs to help families within the community with unmet needs along with a Christmas program for children, and a Mother's Day celebration. In 1981, the Chapter became a fully paid life member organization of the NAACP. Omicron Nu strives to serve its surrounding community diligently and the members of the Chapter are forever dedicated to the ideals and principles of Omega.

Wfelhma Yuci Filia
"Friendship is essential to the Soul"

Notable Contributions and Accomplishments in the Local Community

Brother William Greenwell is one of the founders of the Salinas Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. In October 1939 when the Salinas Branch of the NAACP was established there weren't 50 Black adults in the city, and you had to have 50 people sign a petition to get a NAACP charter. Brother Greenwell, took the petition to the County Courthouse where he got enough white citizens to sign. Mrs. Agnes Tebo, another Salinas Branch founder, is quoted as saying, "I wish I could remember the names of those brave white men who signed our petition." In 1939 within Salinas, CA, it was not considered fashionable to belong to the NAACP.

Brother Morris McDaniel, a Retired Lieutenant Colonel, is one of the founding board members and inaugural President of the Monterey Blues Festival.

In 1986, a gathering of local community citizens envisioned a dream of perpetuating the American Art form "The Blues" and promoting youth and the Arts. Their dream has being realized in an annual event. The Monterey Bay Blues Festival was established as a non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors, who generously give their time to prepare for the Festival. Every year the event is held on the fourth Saturday weekend in June, in a beautiful oak-studded, park-like venue in Monterey, California. The Monterey Bay Blues Festival is considered one of the premier Blues festivals in the country, continuing to attract and feature world-renowned blues artists as well as young budding artists. The Festival has and continues to feature the likes of Billy Preston, B. B. King, The Neville Brothers, James Brown, Ruth Brown, Shemekia Copeland, Charlie Musselwhite, Al Green and Buddy Guy, while simultaneously offering teens an opportunity to thrill their audiences at the same Festival.

(Front Row, left to right) Billy F. DeBerry; Dr. Elisha Brandon (Deceased); Martin Puentes-Secretary; LTC (Retired) Morris McDaniel-President; Dr. Henry T. Hutchins (Deceased);
(Back Row, left to right) Augustia Lewis-Treasurer; James Manning; Sam Karas (Deceased); Franklin Washington; Josh Stewart; and Elmer Phillips.
Not pictured are Attorney Warren Robbins-Legal Advisor, (Deceased); COL. (Retired) Otis Jones; William Jackson (Deceased); Ron Harold and Reuben Simpson.

Initiated November 12th, 1955, Brother McDaniel earned his 50 Year Pin in 2005 while with the Omicron Nu Chapter for continuous commitment and service to the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

Brother Calvin 'Blue' Wade was recognized as the 2001 International Graduate Omega Man of the Year at the 72nd Grand Conclave in Charlotte, North Carolina in 2002.

In addition to his exemplary demonstration of commitment to church, family, and community, for more than five consecutive terms as Basileus, Brother Wade [with the assistance with one or two traveling Brothers at various times] kept the chapter active and committed to the Fraterniy's aim.

Brother Morris T. Houck retired as elementary school educator in 2004. In celebration of this momentous event, the Omicron Nu Chapter, with the yeoman efforts of Brother Raymond Evans, established and endowed the Brother Morris T. Houck Scholarship. The scholarship is presented annually to notable elementary school students in the home school district of Dr. Houck. The recepients are selected by the faculty and staff of three elementary schools and are ceremoniously presented at semi-formal dinner. This scholarship humanitarianly funded by the annual contributions of numerous friends, family members, and Fraternity Brothers.

Brother Charles Hooper, Army Brigadier General, serves as guest speaker for the Naval Postgraduate School's 2007 African American History Month celebration.

Col. Pamela Martis, Commander, U.S. Army Garrison, Presidio of Monterey, greets guest speaker Col. Charles W. Hooper, Army Chair for Foreign Area Officer Training and Development at the Naval Postgraduate School, at the African American History Month celebration.

Brother Hise Gibson, an Army Major and Summer 2007 Naval Postgraduate School Operations Research masters degree recepient, was awarded the Association of the United States Army, General Joseph W. Stilwell Chapter, Award for Outstanding Army Student on September 11, 2007.

Doctoral and masters degree students discuss NPS Army programs with Assistant Professor of Operations Research (OR) and former special forces officer Maj. Lee Ewing (center). Left to right: Military instructor and Ph.D. student Army Lt. Col. Tom Cook; OR masters student Army Aviation Capt. Hise Gibson; Ewing; and Defense Analysis masters student, psychological operations officer Lt. Fred Renzi.

Chapter Lineage

Brothers crossing at Omicron Nu:
Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2)